Actions Vs Reactions

Are we defined by our reactions?

I ask myself this question because, sometimes, I feel guilty about my reactions.

Imma start with the first step, I need to find out what is the definition of a reaction. My friend google says that it is:

– an action performed or a feeling experienced in response to a situation or event.

– a person’s ability to respond physically and mentally to external stimuli.

So… I undergo a situation and then I respond to that situation somehow, but people are all different, that what’s makes us react differently to the same situation. Sometimes people say that “you should not react”, but then, by doing so one removes their own signature applied to the response given to a situation. If we didn’t react, we would all be the same… hmm… Boring human beings.

I find that Fear, Joy, Happiness, Sadness, Anger, Temper… etc.  are some of the feelings that generally shape my reactions. Perhaps that the key thing to do would be to refine these feelings and emotions so that they become inline with the values I believe in.

I should not suppress my reactions, I need to shape my reaction based on the values I believe in.

Note to myself: Re-work on my beliefs, feelings and find out which of those I really agree with, and which ones I’ve inherited without questioning..

To be continued.

DSC_0122-2

Leave a Reply

